Meeting…Bo-Erik Abrahamsson

Bo-Erik Abrahamsson graduated with a First from the Department of Management in 2012. He was awarded The Nomura Future Generations Award for Academic Excellence in Business Management and the Jelf Medal. Since leaving King’s, he started working as a financial analyst at Procter & Gamble in Switzerland. He here reflects on his time at King’s.

 

Bo-Erik Professional

 

Thinking back to my time at King’s brings back many great memories. Apart from all the friends I made and all the things I learned in the classroom, my time at university gave me some very unforeseen experiences. At one point, I hitch-hiked from London to Brussels to raise money for charity, whereas other times trained jiu-jitsu, backpacked all over mainland China and also learned how to wait tables at the Marriot Hotel in London. Other highlights of my three years as a student were the time I spent with King’s College London Business Club, my time in AIESEC, my summer internship in banking in London and of course my year abroad. Living in Hong Kong for a year truly opened up my perspective to new possibilities in the world, and it led me to reconsider many of my previous beliefs and opinions. Studying at HKU was extremely intense, and there was a much greater focus on verbal assessment then we had in London. After I graduated from King’s, I spent the summer working for an internet startup in Malaysia, then went backpacking around South-East Asia and visited friends I made during my exchange year. In October, I started full time at Procter & Gamble’s European headquarters in Geneva, where I work in the Prestige division. I think the greatest asset I picked up during my time at university was the ability to work in diverse teams, as P&G is a highly international company. Analytical and strategic thinking are two other skills that I think my time at King’s helped me develop. In the future, I hope to return to Asia and take advantage of all the amazing development opportunities that exists there. One of the benefits of working for a multinational company is the opportunity to go on an assignment abroad, which I aim to do in the near future. I might also return to the world of academia for a master’s degree, or to improve my Chinese. No matter what the future holds, I am sure that my memories and skills from university will carry me on my way.

 

Bo-Erik travelling

Comments are closed.